Thai PM Is Very Happy To Survive Censure

Prime Minister Prayut Chan-o-cha was in high spirits despite receiving the second-fewest votes of confidence and the most no-confidence votes among six targets.
Despite rumours that some key figures in the Palang Pracharath Party (PPRP) plotted to unseat Gen Prayut, he and five of his cabinet ministers won a vote of confidence from the House with no surprises.
The premier scored 264 votes of confidence against 208 votes of no confidence, with three abstentions – the second-fewest vote of confidence after Labour Minister Suchart Chomklin of the PPRP, who scored 263-201 with 10 abstentions.
Additionally, he received the most no-confidence votes of all six on the list with 208.
Following the vote, Gen Prayut said he was satisfied with the outcome and would continue working. Additionally, he thanked the MPs for their support.
“My heart is big like my fist,” he said as he pounded his chest twice with a fist.
“My morale is high as well.”
Asked if he would spend more time with PPRP MPs and coalition partners, Gen Prayut said everyone was welcome to discuss public issues with him.
A number of renegade government MPs and some PPRP heavyweights attempted to topple him during the four-day censure debate.
On the eve of the election, General Prayut was said to have fended off the threat.
In addition, the prime minister dismissed MPs’ observations about the number of votes he received, saying he didn’t pay attention to details.
He replied, “Did I survive [the censure motion]? If I did, it’s done.”. During past censure debates, Gen Prayut won the most confidence votes with 274 both in February last year and this year.
Coalition MPs who cast a vote of no confidence for the prime minister were Democrat MP for Pattani Anwar Salae, Forest Conservation Party leader Damrong Pidech, Thai Rak Tham Party MP Peerawit Ruangluedolapak, New Democracy Party (NDP) leader, and list-MP Suratin Picharn, and New Economic Party list-MP Niyom Wiwatthanaditkul.
Democrat list-MP Panich Vikitsreth broke ranks and abstained from voting.
Agriculture Minister Chalermchai Sri-on of the Democrat Party won the most votes of confidence with 270-199 with eight abstentions while Chaiwut Thanakamanusorn, the new digital economy and society minister from the PPRP, received 267-202 with nine abstentions.
Anutin Charnvirakul, deputy prime minister and minister of public health, received 269 votes to 196 with 11 abstentions. Saksayam Chidchob received 269-195 votes with 10 abstentions. Both were members of the Bhumjaithai Party. Nutin thanked the MPs for their support but declined to discuss a possible cabinet reshuffle. A cabinet shake-up is the prime minister’s responsibility, he said.
Chalermchai said the result showed unity in the coalition government and for the government as a whole.
Two Democratic MPs who defied the party line were told to submit an explanation.
Seven Pheu Thai MPs abstained from voting, breaking ranks with their party.
Additionally, six renegade MPs voted against the party stance, with Kharom Polpornklang casting a vote of confidence for Gen Prayut and the five cabinet ministers.

Tags: , , , ,

%d bloggers like this: